AndreaSchombaraFotografie69WEB.jpg

THEOLOGY

Here I give an overview of my current projects in the field of theology.

Special issue Religions

Together with Prof. Dr. Ute Leimgruber, pastoral theologian from Regensburg, I am editing a special issue of the journal Religions which addresses violence and abuse of adults in the Catholic Church:

https://www.mdpi.com/journal/religions/special_issues/ssv

Goethe University’s Course in Feminist Theology

In the summer semester of 2021, I hold the traditional course on Feminist Theology of the departments 06 and 07 of Goethe University. Together with students of Protestant and Catholic theology, I explore stereotypical representations of gender in Christian texts. In the examination of selected stereotypes (the devoted mother, the powerful apostle) I would like not only to make the problematic aspects visible, but also to make clear that the Christian sources behind these stereotypes are invariably surprisingly complex and ambivalent.

Conference on POWER: Legitimation, Exercise, Abuse

This year again I had the privilege to prepare a conference on the topic of power.  Its title: "POWER: Legitimation, Exercise, Abuse. Theological Abuse Research in the Context of Research in the Social Sciences, Law and the Humanities". I am delighted that, in addition to a number of luminaries from Goethe University, a number of great guests from other universities also attended (including Marie Keenan and Hille Haker), in order to address questions that arise with regard to power and its misusability at the intersections of theology, social sciences, law, and other humanities.

Here is the Flyer of the Conference

Gender Sex and Power Research Group

I have been a Fellow with the Gender Sex and Power Project at the Cushwa Center at Notre Dame University since March 2020 (Link: https://cushwa.nd.edu/about/gendersexpower/). The project works closely with BishopAccountability.org. My personal project as part of this research group revolves around abortions: Abortions play a role in several files about priests who abused girls. Abusers force their victims to have abortions to cover up abuse - or victims have abortions themselves because they know no other way out. These cases have remained largely unexplored and "under the radar" of public awareness. My goal is to launch one or more publications on this topic soon.

AndreaSchombaraFotografie69WEB.jpg

THEOLOGIE

Hier gebe ich einen Überblick der laufenden Projekte im Bereich Theologie, an denen ich aktuell arbeite und in der Vergangenheit gearbeitet habe.

Sonderheft „Religions“

Gemeinsam mit der Regensburger Pastoraltheologin Prof. Dr. Ute Leimgruber gebe ich ein Sonderheft des Journals Religions heraus, das sich mit Gewalt und Missbrauch von Erwachsenen in der katholischen Kirche befasst.

Feministische Lehrveranstaltung

Im Sommersemester 2021 halte ich die Feministische Lehrveranstaltung der Fachbereiche 06 und 07 der Goethe-Universität. Gemeinsam mit Studierenden der evangelischen und katholischen Theologie setze ich mich mit stereotypen Darstellungen von Geschlechtern in christlichen Texten auseinander. In der Auseinandersetzung mit ausgewählten Stereotypen (die hingebungsvolle Mutter, der wortgewaltige Apostel) möchte ich nicht nur die problematischen Aspekte sichtbar machen, sondern auch deutlich machen, dass die christlichen Quellen hinter diesen Stereotypen durchweg überraschend vielschichtig und ambivalent sind.

Tagung MACHT: Legitimation, Ausübung, Missbrauch.

Als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Fachbereich Katholische Theologie der Goethe-Universität durfte ich auch dieses Jahr wieder eine Tagung zum Thema Macht vorbereiten. Ihr Titel: „MACHT: Legitimation, Ausübung, Missbrauch. Theologische Missbrauchsforschung im Kontext sozial-, rechts- und geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschungen“. Ich freue mich, dass neben einigen Koryphäen der Goethe-Universität auch eine Reihe großartiger Gäste von anderen Universitäten teilgenommen haben, um Fragen zu diskutieren, die sich im Blick auf Macht und ihre Missbrauchbarkeit an den Schnittstellen zwischen Theologie, Sozial- Rechts-und anderen Geisteswissenschaften auftun.

Hier ist der Flyer der Tagung

Forschungsgruppe Gender Sex and Power

Seit März 2020 bin ich Fellow des Gender Sex and Power Projects am Cushwa Center der Notre Dame University. Das Projekt arbeitet eng mit BishopAccountability zusammen. Mein persönliches Projekt im Rahmen dieser Forschungsgruppe dreht sich um Abtreibungen: In mehreren Akten über Priester, die Mädchen missbrauchten, spielen Abtreibungen eine Rolle. Täter zwingen ihre Opfer abzutreiben, um Missbrauch zu vertuschen – oder Betroffene treiben selbst ab, weil sie keinen anderen Ausweg wissen. Diese Fälle sind bislang weitgehend unerforscht und „unter dem Radar“ der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung. Mein Ziel ist es, demnächst einen oder mehrere Veröffentlichungen zu diesem Thema auf den Weg zu bringen.