MY WORK

As a theologian and philosopher, I work in the main areas mentioned below. You can view my current projects in detail on the next pages.

PHILOSOPHY

My philosophical interests lie in the field of philosophy of art, artifacts and religion.

 

Analytical Clarification of the term "Missbrauch" (abuse)

In an essay entitled "Peculiarities of Religious Logic and Their Consequences. An Analysis of the Catholic Ambiguity of the Concept of Abuse," I address the various meanings of "Missbrauch" (abuse), a term that has played a key role in the intra-church discussion of recent years. In a first step I distinguish between "Missbrauch" as antonym to "Gebrauch" (use) and a person-related meaning of the term: abuse as violation of autonomy. In a second step I distinguish between an understanding of the term shaped by the ecclesiastical order and one shaped by modern liberal orders. I conclude that the term "Missbrauch" as used in the Catholic Church and "Missbrauch" as used in secular systems have two completely different meanings, based on two opposing sets of moral premises: For the ecclesiastical order "Missbrauch" is a violation of obedience. For the secular order "Missbrauch" is the violation of a person's autonomy and intimacy.

Artifact originality

The initial question of my dissertation was: What is an original? The observation behind the question: in many philosophical articles the concept remains unexplained. Assumptions about the mysterious origins of ingenious ideas, which have accompanied artistic creative processes since the 18th century and play a role in the reception of works to this day, further complicate the specification of the term.

 

In the second half of my dissertation, I develop a definition that attempts to do justice to originals of as many kinds of artifact types as possible - including non-artistic artifacts like consumer goods or branded goods: A thing (x) is an original if it possesses a property (Z) that is relevant in a particular context (k), in contrast to another object (y) that only supposedly possesses the same property (Z) so that in k, x is distinguished from y.

THEOLOGY

My theological focus lies in certain areas of systematic and practical theology. My research interests are in particular theological justifications for the factual constitution of the Roman Catholic Church in its current legal form as well as the conditions and forms of autonomous spirituality, the theological causes and consequences of binary and normative gender orders, and last but not least manifestations of Catholic fundamentalism.

MISCELLANEOUS

These are some of my other projects and activities. I write articles for the ZEIT supplement Christ & Welt. I also hold lectures and training courses on the subject of "spiritual abuse" for spiritual directors, priests, religious and parishes. I am a consultant for Voices of Faith and contact person for women who have experienced violence in the church.

 

 

 

Andreas Battlog, Doris Reisinger und Helmut Schüller bei der Preisverleihung "Trompete von Jericho"
Andreas Battlog, Doris Reisinger und Helmut Schüller bei der Preisverleihung "Trompete von Jericho"

press to zoom
Doris Reisinger auf dem blauen Sofa 2019
Doris Reisinger auf dem blauen Sofa 2019

press to zoom
Doris Reisinger bei einem Voices of Faith Event 2018
Doris Reisinger bei einem Voices of Faith Event 2018

press to zoom
Andreas Battlog, Doris Reisinger und Helmut Schüller bei der Preisverleihung "Trompete von Jericho"
Andreas Battlog, Doris Reisinger und Helmut Schüller bei der Preisverleihung "Trompete von Jericho"

press to zoom
1/15

MEINE ARBEIT

Als Theologin und Philosophin arbeite ich in den drei unten genannten Schwerpunkten sowie an aktuellen Projekten, welche ich gerne im Detail vorstelle.

PHILOSOPHIE

Meine philosophischen Interessen liegen im Bereich der Kunst-, Artefakt- und Religionsphilosophie.

 

Begriffsklärung „Missbrauch“

In einem Aufsatz mit dem Titel „Religiöse Eigenlogik und ihre Konsequenzen. Eine Analyse der katholischen Mehrdeutigkeit des Missbrauchsbegriffs“ setze ich mich mit den verschiedenen Bedeutungen von „Missbrauch“ auseinander, einem Begriff, der eine Schlüsselrolle in der innerkirchlichen Diskussion der vergangenen Jahre spielt. Ich unterscheide zwischen einer antonymen und einer personbezogenen Bedeutung des Begriffs und zwischen einem von der kirchlichen Ordnung und einem von modernen freiheitlichen Ordnungen geprägten Begriffsverständnis. Dabei komme ich zu dem Schluss, dass „Missbrauch“ in der katholischen Kirche und „Missbrauch“ in weltlichen Ordnungssystemen zwei völlig verschiedene Tatbestände bezeichnen und auf weithin gegensätzlichen moralischen Prämissen beruhen.

 

Artefaktoriginalität

Die Ausgangsfrage meiner Dissertation war: Was ist ein Original? Die Beobachtung hinter der Frage: In vielen kunstphilosophischen Texten bleibt der Originalbegriff ungeklärt. Genieästhetische Annahmen spielen eine gewisse Rolle und erschweren die Präzisierung des Begriffs zusätzlich.

 

In der zweiten Hälfte meiner Dissertation entwickle ich eine Definition, die versucht, den Originalen möglichst aller Arten von Artefaktarten – auch jenseits der Kunst – gerecht zu werden: Ein Ding (x) ist dann ein Original, wenn es eine Eigenschaft (Z), die in einem bestimmten Kontext (k) relevant ist, tatsächlich besitzt, und zwar im Unterschied zu einem anderen Gegenstand (y), der dieselbe Eigenschaft (Z) nur vermeintlich besitzt.

THEOLOGIE

Meine theologischen Schwerpunkte liegen in der Systematischen und Praktischen Theologie. Meine Forschungsinteresse gilt insbesondere theologischen Begründungsfiguren für die faktische Verfasstheit der römisch-katholischen Kirche in ihrer aktuellen Rechtsgestalt sowie den Bedingungen und Formen autonomer Spiritualität, den theologischen Ursachen und Konsequenzen binärer und normativer Geschlechterordnungen sowie außerdem und nicht zuletzt Erscheinungsformen des katholischen Fundamentalismus.

SONSTIGES

Dies sind einige meiner sonstigen Projekte und Tätigkeiten. Ich schreibe ich in unregelmäßigen Abständen Artikel für die ZEIT-Beilage Christ & Welt. Zudem halte ich Vorträge und Fortbildungen zu den Themen "Geistlicher Missbrauch“, beispielsweise für geistliche Begleiter*innen, Priester, Ordensleute und Pfarreien. Ich bin Beraterin von Voices of Faith und Ansprechpartnerin der Anlaufstelle für Frauen, die im kirchlichen Raum Gewalt erfahren haben.

Doris Reisinger bei einem Voices of Faith Event 2018
Doris Reisinger bei einem Voices of Faith Event 2018

press to zoom
Andreas Battlog, Doris Reisinger und Helmut Schüller bei der Preisverleihung "Trompete von Jericho"
Andreas Battlog, Doris Reisinger und Helmut Schüller bei der Preisverleihung "Trompete von Jericho"

press to zoom
Doris Reisinger auf dem blauen Sofa 2019
Doris Reisinger auf dem blauen Sofa 2019

press to zoom
1/15